CoConstruct Honors 2020 NAHB Award Winners and Finalists


The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) recently recognized top residential construction industry leaders at a series of virtual ceremonies. CoConstruct congratulates our home builders and remodelers who were among the winners and finalists including Mark Batson, Custom Home Builder of the Year Award, Leo Lantz, Remodeler Designee of the Year Award, and John Madden and Danielle Doyle, Young Professional Award Finalists.

“We’re incredibly proud of what our customers and all independent construction companies did this past year to move building forward,” said CoConstruct’s Vice President of Marketing Mark Sullivan. 

“Mark, Leo, John, Danielle, along with their teams, are creating the kinds of rewarding experiences for clients that CoConstruct was built around. We’re excited to see what they do next.” 

Learn more about the recent award winners and finalists below.

NAHB Custom Home Builder of the Year: Mark Batson

National Association of Home Builders 2020 Home Builder of the Year Mark Batson

NAHB’s Custom Home Builder of the Year Award recognizes custom builders for their innovative achievements, professional leadership, and creativity in crafting one-of-a-kind custom homes. Winners demonstrate leadership at work and in the community, exemplify expertise in converting a client’s wish lists into a unique home, and contribute to the overall strength of the home building industry. 

Mark Batson is the owner of Tongue & Groove Design + Build in Wilmington, North Carolina. Tongue & Groove Design + Build was a finalist for this prestigious award in 2019 and their work has been recognized by The Wall Street Journal, HGTV, Home Builder Digest, and the American Residential Design Awards. 

"We’re from the small NC town of Wilmington, and out of 140,000 members nationwide we have been honored as the recipient for the National Custom Home Builder of the Year Award. Wow! We are so proud. Collectively, we desire to be the best, and this recognition is validation that we’re doing the right thing. Our mission and beliefs have been our simple guide, and by following them we will continue to design and build more beautiful luxury homes. My award-winning team is even more motivated to make their mark on the custom home building industry," said Mark Batson.

Mark joins Rod Cullum of Cullum Homes and Chad Magleby of Magleby Construction as recent CoConstruct builders who have also won the Custom Home Builder of the Year Award.

NAHB Remodeler Designee of the Year: Leo Lantz

National Association of Home Builders 2020 Remodeler Designee of the Year Leo Lantz

NAHB’s Remodeler Designee of the Year Award recognizes housing professionals who have displayed notable professionalism as NAHB designation holders and who are dedicated to improving their own craft while encouraging others in the industry to do the same. 

Leo Lantz is the owner of Leo Lantz Construction Inc. and a 25-year industry veteran who plays a strong role in the HBA of Richmond. The remodeling firm, located in Glen Allen, Virginia, has been recognized by Houzz (a leading platform for home renovation and design), the Richmond Times-Dispatch, and the National Association of Remodeling Industry. 

“I was indeed honored to be the recipient of the 2020 NAHB Remodeling Designee of the Year Award,” said Leo. “It was a culmination of years of commitment to continuing education and the positive results of positioning Leo Lantz Construction as the trusted expert in our field. A sincere ‘Thank You’ to NAHB for this distinguished acknowledgment recognizing our commitment to Certifications.” 

Leo Lantz also won the 2018 NAHB National Remodeler of the Year Award.

NAHB Young Professionals Award Finalists: John Madden & Danielle Doyle

NAHB’s Young Professionals Award acknowledges young professionals’ hard work, achievements, dedication, and potential as they become leaders in the home building industry. John Madden, Owner and Founder of J Madden Homes in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and Danielle Doyle, Vice President of Jayden Homes in Monument, Colorado, were two of the fifteen finalists recognized by the NAHB for this award.